I (gulp) tried Beets for the first time

Beets. You either love them or you hate them. Yesterday I tried a beet for the first time with the recipe, “Can’t beet me smoothie” in the Run Fast. Eat Slow cookbook. I was intrigued by the color and I though that the other ingredients might disguise the beet flavor. After much warning from people about the taste I carefully peeled and washed the beet and decided to make the smoothie.

20170120_160339

Looks good right?

 

The final product looked amazing, with the beautiful color I thought that it would taste even more amazing. I was wrong. The first sip hit me hard with an earthy beet flavor.20170120_155851 For those of you out there who also hate beets you know that they taste similar to dirt. But I still had faith; I added more peanut butter (because peanut butter saves anything right?) Again the beet flavor was still there and I couldn’t get past it. All the peanut butter in the world could not save this smoothie.

This is just my judgement but if you are a fan of beets perhaps you will like this smoothie. But for those of you who are not beet fans, stay far away from this smoothie!

Recipe: http://www.runnersworld.com/recipes/run-fast-eat-slow/slide/1

Leave a comment