Review: Nuun Hydration

I’ve been drinking Nuun (pronounced noon) since as long as I can remember. I brought it to my soccer games when I was 8, bike rides when I was 10, and ultimate frisbee games when I was 12. Now, at age 16, I drink it before hard workouts and during cross country and track meets. At this point, it’s safe to say that I’ve tried many varieties of this hydration drink and I’m here to share this brand that I love with you as well. 

So what even is Nuun? Surely you’ve seen it in the drink enhancer aisles and at checkout counters, right? Nuun are essentially hydrating electrolyte tablets without the carbs, made to make every drink of water worth it. Each tablet is around 10 calories and they come in many different flavors ranging from banana, to cherry limeade, to fruit punch, to orange… there are many to chose from. Just pop a tablet into your water bottle, let it dissolve, and BOOM, you’ll have a delicious hydrating, fizzy, thirst quenching, bottle of water. Beginners tip: leave the cap off your water bottle while the tablet is dissolving. Because it’s fizzy, gas is being released. If you leave the cap on, when you go to take a sip, the results will be synonymous as to that of opening up a shaken can of soda! No one wants a leaky, sticky water bottle. 

Besides the different flavors, Nuun also offers tablets that serve different functions:

Nuun Energy: contains green tea based caffeine to increase your energy levels and alertness. 

Nuun Vitamin: like in the name, it contains essential vitamins to boost your daily health. 

Nuun Active: replaces electrolytes lost while sweating during hard workouts. 

Nuun All Day: basically mild hydrating tablets for ordinary people throughout the day.

For more info, you can visit their website.


These tablets contain clean ingredients and are gluten, soy, and dairy free, and contain very little sugar. My personal favorite was the banana kind, but unfortunately those were discontinued 😦 , so now I enjoy the pink lemonade ones! I like that the flavors aren’t too overpowering or too fizzy. It just makes your water a little more fun and keeps you hydrated. 

I highly recommend picking up a tube of any variety, they all taste amazing and I’ve definitely observed a difference in my activity levels when drinking Nuun. For example, that day after a race I’m not feeling as wiped out as if I race without Nuun. Most tubes of 10 tablets go for around $5.99-$8.99 (totally worth it!). I’d recommend buying a multipack from Amazon so that you can try out a variety of flavors! Click here to order some. 🙂

If you’ve ever been to racing events, Nuun most likely has a booth there, because they are huge sponsors of active organizations. I’ve found them at race races, triathlons, and marathons. Don’t be afraid to ask for free samples, that’s what they’re there for. Sometimes, they’ll even give you a whole tube! At times they have other swag such as stickers and water bottles too. Trust me, I have so many water bottles just from talking to the workers under the Nuun tent. 


One of the reasons why I love Nuun is because a tablet can last all day. As long as you keep your water cold, your drink will say fizzy and flavorful all day. Beginners tip: if you water gets too warm, it will turn a weird light yellow, lose its fizz, and taste bitter! So bring a insulated water bottle like a Hydro Flask. 

Another reason is that it’s thirst quenching. This means that all I have to do it take one sip of my water to feel refreshed. No more chugging half the bottle and having water slosh around in my stomach (pleasant, I know) on hot days! 

And my final reason is that it’s pretty mild. It’s not overly sugary like Gatorade, but it still tastes amazing! And you can chose your flavor level by adding from a half a tablet to two. It’s all your choice! 

ps: look how cool and springy the lid is!

So overall, Nuun tastes great, is hydrating, and great for all people; whether you drink the vitamin tablet on the regular, or energy tablet on active days. Everyone drinks water, so why not make it delicious and even more healthy? 10/10 would recommend. After all, hydration is key! 

Leave a Reply

